Breaking News :

Ivory Coast Recalls Zaha For AFCON

Wilfried Zaha of Crystal Palace was recalled to the Ivory Coast team for the Africa Cup of Nations next month on Thursday.

The 29-year-old declined to join the team at their previous meeting in November, but coach Patrice Beaumelle has named him to the squad for the tournament in Cameroon, which begins on January 9.

Sebastien Halle of Ajax and six members of the club that won the cup for the second time in 2015, including defenders Serge Aurier and Eric Bailly, as well as forward Max Gradel, round out the seasoned line-up.

The Ivory Coast kicks off their campaign on January 12 against Equatorial Guinea, followed by games against Sierra Leone and Algeria in the group stage.

Ivory Coast’s team consists of the following players:

Goalkeepers: Sylvain Gbohouo (Wolkite Ketema/ETH), Badra Ali (JDR Stars/RSA), Ira Tapé (FC San Pedro), Cissé Abdul Karim (Asec Mimosas)

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Villareal/ESP), Éric Bailly (Manchester United/ENG), Willy Boly (Wolverhampton/ENG), Wilfried Kanon (Pyramids FC/EGY), Odilon Kossonou (Bayer Leverkusen/GER),  Simon Deli (Adana Demirspor/TUR); Ghislain Konan (Reims/FRA)

Midfielders: Habib Maiga (Metz/FRA), Serey Die (FC Sion/SUI), Ibrahim Sangaré (PSV Eindhoven/NED), Jean Daniel Akpa Akpro (Lazio/ITA), Franck Kessie (AC Milan/ITA), Hamed Junior Traoré (Sassuolo/ITA), Jean Michael Seri (Fulham/ENG)

Forwards: Maxwell Cornet (Burnley/ENG), Max Gradel (Sivasspor/TUR), Jérémie Boga (Sassuolo/ITA), Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace/ENG), Jean Évrard Kouassi (Trabzonspor/TUR), Nicolas Pépé (Arsenal/ENG), Christian Kouame (Anderlecht/BEL), Sebastien Haller (Ajax/NED), Johan Boli (Al- Rayan/QAT), Konaté Karim (Asec Mimosas)

Read Previous

Titan Trust Bank Takes Over Union Bank

Read Next

Napoli Threaten To Stop Osimhen from AFCON With Legal Action

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *